Superules 1980 - 1999

You will find a welcoming atmosphere at AFLM clubs with an emphasis on family involvement and fun social interaction.
Social interaction is also a very important feature of AFL Masters for all participants.

Superules 1980 – 1999

Oct 1999 17th Superules Australia National Championships, Darwin, Northern Territory
Sep 1998 16th Superules Australia National Championships, Duntroon RMC, Canberra, ACT
Sep 1997 Record number of 28 teams across three age divisions plus first ever over 50’s match.
15th Superules Australia National Championships, Kardinia Park, Geelong, Victoria. First time on AFL ground.
Apr 1997 National Insurance Scheme introduced for players and administrators
Sep 1996 14th Superules Australia National Championships, Adelaide, South Australia
Oct 1995 13th Superules Australia National Championships, Sydney, New South Wales
Mar 1995 Bruce Arlow stood down after serving as President since 1988
Oct 1994 WA, Qld, SA and NSW provided Seniorules teams as the Championships continue to grow.
12th Superules Australia National Championship, Perth, Western Australia.
Oct 1993 11th Superules Australia National Championship, Hobart, Tasmania
Apr 1993 WA versus Victoria Official Opening Australian Masters Games Fremantle.
  Introduction of Seniorules for players 45 years and over.
Oct 1992 10th National Carnival, Labrador FC Queensland Gold Coast.
Oct 1991 All Australian Team played in the 25th Umpires Pre-season Lighting Carnival.
Ninth Superules Australia National Carnival, Darwin, Opening Marrara Sporting Complex.
Oct 1990 Superules continued with 2 divisions and saw for the first time teams that teams are to be promoted and relegated.
Eighth Superules Australia National Carnival, Melbourne, Victoria. – Inaugural Masterules Competition of 8 teams.
Oct 1989 WA & NT unable to participate due to airline strike.
Seventh Superules Australia National Carnival, Canberra, ACT. – Introduction of two divisions for Superules
Oct 1988 Sixth Superules Australia National Carnival, Adelaide, SA. – First Masterules competition
Oct 1987 Fifth Superules Australia National Carnival, Brisbane, Queensland. – Masterules introduced for players over 40.
Oct 1986 The 1986 Carnival was the first carnival with all State and Territories represented.
Fourth Superules Australia National Carnival, Perth, WA – First International match Tasmania versus Singapore.
Sep 1985 Cascade Superules Australia National Carnival, Hobart, Tasmania
Aug 1984 Second Superules Australia National Carnival, Darwin, NT
Dec 1983 Ansett Airlines sponsorship for 3 years – National directors now attend meetings of the main national body.
Sep 1983 Sports Exacto Superules Carnival at Camberwell Football Ground, Melbourne
Jul 1983 Inaugural Superules National Carnival
Jul 1983 Superules first meeting at Morningside F.C Brisbane, Queensland
Jul 1983 Western Victoria combined team played Alice Springs in their first game
Jun 1983 A.C.T. versus Western Victoria at Warracknabeal.
Two oldest teams ever to play Australian Football average age 47 years, at Warracknabeal.
May 1983 Start of Superules first organised competition. Fourteen teams in Western & Central Victoria.
Feb 1983 Northern Districts, Victoria Park, Fremantle & Swanbourne.
Appointment of inaugural Committee in Western Australia with fixtures for 1983 season with four teams
Jan 1983 Appointment of a National Administrator
Aug 1982 Interstate match:South Australia versus Victoria at Nhill
Aug 1982 Combined Melbourne versus South West Victoria at Hamilton
Aug 1982 Exhibition match at Launceston to launch Superules in Tasmania
Jul 1982 Melbourne played Canberra at Lavington
Jun 1982 North East Victoria played Darwin at Darwin
May 1982 A Western Victoria team lost to Adelaide at West Torrens
Apr 1982 Inaugural Fixtures played in Perth
Oct 1981 Victoria team travelled to Darwin to play Northern Territory and lost
Jun 1981 Melbourne versus Victoria Country – curtain raiser to VFA preliminary final.
Jun 1981 Canberra versus Victoria – the first representative Superules match.
Apr 1981 Wimmera played Ballarat in the first programmed game in Victoria.
Sep 1980 Wimmera versus Melbourne Superules curtain raiser at the Ballarat Grand Final. Best Crowd of seven seasons.
29th August, 1980 Inaugural Meeting at Nhill (Victoria) to form Superules