Supers Club Background
The Hall of Fame was implemented by the Board of Management for AFL Masters in 1997 to recognise the outstanding personal contributions of players, umpires administrators and supporters to the development of Superules and subsequently AFL Masters since its inception in 1980
In the first year the nine member associations were each asked to nominate the person they thought had made the most significant contribution to their state game.
These nine nominations were officially inducted into the chain of name's at the Inaugural 'Hall of Fame' Dinner at the Geelong Football Club which was held during the Geelong Carnival in 1997.
In 1998 and 1999, in order to maintain the prestige of the award only five nominations were inducted into the AFL Masters Hall of Fame.
In year 2000 only two people were selected and in year 2001 the Hall of Fame Selection Committee extended the rules to induct up to three new members each year.
The induction of Hall of Fame nominees will continue to be held at a formal dinner during the National Carnival and all AFL Masters supporters are welcome to attend. Member Associations are asked to Support the occasion by each committing at beast two reserved tables for the dinner.